A little oblong sunburn has appeared on the side of my breast. A clear rectangle, with the surgeon’s scar at centre.

This is from the “boost” of extra radiation targeting the surgery area.

Not so bad; not nearly as bad as the time I got a sunburn topless sunbathing in Australia. Oooh.. that lasted for days of heat and itching; I remember sitting in the back seat of a car when a fellow picked up my friend and I hitch-hiking, and being so grateful I wasn’t in the front because my itching boobs were driving me crazy. (In case any male readers have not thought of this, it’s really not acceptable to be seen to be fondling – or scratching – your mammaries in public. Especially if you don’t want a pleasantly nice driver to get the really wrong idea about your interest.)

Anyway, a little red, a little sore; manageable. Compared to the gross images in my head when the radiation docs and orientation folks kept talking about the possibility of “skin breakdown” (ewww!!), the physical stuff has been okay. Of course, I was warned on the final day that this area is now extra-sensitive, so in future I must always be careful of it getting over-exposed to the sun. As if!